Ott Sarapuu Elected as the New Chairman of the Estonian Convention Bureau Board

Ott Sarapuu, director of the Proto Invention Factory, has been elected as the new Chairman of the Board for Estonian Convention Bureau. The new board of the bureau and the chairman were elected by the ECB General Assembly for the three-year terms starting in January 2020.

The ECB General Assembly elected a total of 8 board members. Six former members got re-elected. Meet the new Board as follows – Aivar Sirelpuu (Alexela Concert Hall), Evelin Tsirk (Tallinn City), Feliks Mägus (Nordic Hotel Forum), Helen Kalberg (Tartu City), Külli Karing (Via Hansa & Borealis DMC & PCO), Malle Pottsepp (Estravel Baltcoming), Ott Sarapuu (Proto Invention Factory) and Raigo Triik (Metropol Spa Hotel).

“Business events are an important industry sector for the Estonian economy. In addition to the direct economic impact hosting major international conferences and events gives Estonia a great opportunity to showcase our achievements and make important scientific and business connections worldwide,” said Sarapuu.

“I hereby would like to thank ECB´s previous Chairman Mr Feliks Mägus, former board members and the team for their dedication and magnificent work. Continuous growth of the meetings sector in Estonia and the recent win of the ICCA Best Marketing Award are just a few examples of how creative marketing, power of storytelling and collaboration can put a new fresh destination strongly on the map,” added Sarapuu.

The new Board will focus above all on the development of ECB and its membership, building even stronger liaisons with private and public sector as well as partnering with universities, associations and Conference Ambassadors to attract international conferences to Estonia.

For further details, contact:
Ms. Kadri Karu
Managing Director
Estonian Convention Bureau
Tel. +372 6450 029

The Estonian Convention Bureau is a non-profit organisation established jointly by public and private sector bodies. It was founded in March 2008 in order to attract international conventions to Estonia. The bureau’s 36 members include the cities of Tallinn, Tartu and Pärnu, and a number of DMCs, PCOs and hotels. It is co-financed by the Estonian Tourist Board, Enterprise Estonia.

Riine Tiigi

Marketing Manager